![]() |
![]() |
| Sportbikes & Sport-tourers Got a supersport, sport-tourer or streetbike? If you prefer the twisties to the open road, this is the place to talk about it! |
|
Welcome to the Motorcycle-Journal Forums forums. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | #1 (permalink) |
| Newbie Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
| i've recently just got my bike permit and will be taking courses to learn how to ride. in the meantime i've just been looking at bikes from different companies that i might be interested in buying in the near future. the suzuki gsxr looks like a real nice bike and i've looked on ebay to get a sense of the pricing for a used one. but it seems that a lot of the pricing doesnt fit in a scheme. i see some 2004-2005 with low mileage that are cheaper then some 2001-2003s with higher mileage. take a look at this for example http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/2003-...QQcmdZViewItem the bike looks extremely nice, but the price looks to good to be true, or atleast i think so. is that around the correct price for that bike? and this one http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/2003-...QQcmdZViewItem salvage title, more mileage but around the same price? |
| | |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| Dogs Best Friend(admin) ![]() Joined: Jul 2004
Bike: SOLD
Location: Moncton NB Canada
Posts: 9,185
| Get a smaller bike for your first bike. Look around the forum and you'll understand why. Start with these... http://www.suzuki-bikes.com/forum/sh...ht=newbie+bike http://www.suzuki-bikes.com/forum/sh...ht=newbie+bike http://www.suzuki-bikes.com/forum/sh...ht=newbie+bike |
| | |
| | #3 (permalink) |
| Newbie Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
| hey thanx for the response i will begin to look for something around 500cc. im still in question as to the prices. i was more interested in knowing are those correct or not because it seems there are a lot of price differences by the thousands for similar models |
| | |
| | #4 (permalink) | ||||||
| Et cetera ad nauseum ![]() Joined: Dec 2003
Bike: 2002 Bandit 1200 S
Location: St. Cloud, MN, USA
Posts: 18,296
| Yeah, a 2003 with upgrades for $2850 sounds fishy. Like trapper said, choose your first bike wisely. You have roughly a 50% chance of dumping it the first year.
__________________
| ||||||
| | |
| | #5 (permalink) |
| Seat Tester Joined: Oct 2004
Bike: 02 B6
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 54
| Pretty much any of those bikes that are priced "Too good to be true" are too good to be true. Lots of scammers on eBay and other sites. Find a nice bike locally and start there. A GS500 or a Ninja 500 can make a nice first bike. Buy a used one, ride it for a year or so, then sell it for what you paid for it. |
| | |
| | #6 (permalink) |
| Newbie Joined: Sep 2005
Bike: '05 GSX750FK Katana
Posts: 13
| Be careful, Very Careful!! I have been looking at them alot myself lately! I have been asking the seller's where the bike is located, and letting them know I am interested. I then receive an email from the seller giving me a sob story of sorts, i.e. they are working in Ireland and they will ship the bike from Ireland to the highest bidder free of charge, or something like that. Shipping a bike from Ireland doesn't seem like it would be cheap. So are they giving it away? I might have believed the seller had I not received almost identical emails from several different sellers! Look on eBay for Hyabusas! You'll see what I mean. Another clue that it might be fraud is when the seller says not to contact them through eBay, but to use a different email address, like Yahoo or Hotmail or some other free anonymous email site. The first link you provided for the GSXR with all the mods, the seller says to email me at his Yahoo email address, which he states is his work email address, because his personal email address that is tied to his eBay account is full. Let's think about this for a second. His email account tied to eBay is full. He could do a couple of things to alleviate this problem. 1: empty his email, seems easy enough! 2: Log onto his eBay account, go to MyeBay, check MyMessages for any new email that has been sent to his eBay user's name. 3: I don't know of many companies that provide a Yahoo email address for employees to conduct company business with. Sounds very fishy. He says to look at Kaw's website. Is he referring to Kawasaki? Did he forget it was a Suzuki? Pay attention to the way language and grammar is used. Me personally, it sounds like a foreigner trying to come across as sincere. There are numerous misspellings. Be Careful!! Hope this helps!
__________________ 'carpe diem, carpe noctem, carpe cerevisi' Seize the Day, Seize the Night, Seize the Beer! |
| | |
| | #7 (permalink) |
| Newbie Joined: Sep 2005
Bike: '05 GSX750FK Katana
Posts: 13
| one think I forgot to mention. One of the sellers that I contacted emailed me and said that he was in Germany working for Lufthansa Air. He said he would ship the bike to me from California. All I had to do was put the money into an escrow account and let Square Trade hold onto it until I had a chance to receive the bike and test ride it. Seemed very much on the up and up, at least until I went to the Square Trade website to check into how to setup an escrow. Square Trade says on it's website that they do not, will not, nor have they ever, held payments for, or setup escrow accounts or accepted payments for sellers! Take it for what it's worth. I have let eBay know about past troubles with scams, but it always seems that they don't do anything about it for us, the buyers. At least you have a little more information than I did. Hope this helps!
__________________ 'carpe diem, carpe noctem, carpe cerevisi' Seize the Day, Seize the Night, Seize the Beer! Last edited by rb5064; 10-03-2005 at 12:57 AM. Reason: typos |
| | |
| | #8 (permalink) | ||||||
| Et cetera ad nauseum ![]() Joined: Dec 2003
Bike: 2002 Bandit 1200 S
Location: St. Cloud, MN, USA
Posts: 18,296
| Any time someone asks you to pay ahead for a large purchase it should be considered a scam. No wonder they do it... there are suckers everywhere!
__________________
| ||||||
| | |
| | #10 (permalink) |
| Sit speling cheker ![]() Joined: Jan 2005
Bike: 2008 Yamaha FZ6
Location: omaha, ne
Posts: 1,792
| first off 03 Gsxr for under 3k. NO WAY! even in stock form. SCAM. And did anyone notice he says to check it out on Kaw's website. Does he even realize what he is trying to scam people on.
__________________ yippee |
| | |
| | #12 (permalink) | |||||||
| Et cetera ad nauseum ![]() Joined: Dec 2003
Bike: 2002 Bandit 1200 S
Location: St. Cloud, MN, USA
Posts: 18,296
| Quote:
__________________
| |||||||
| | |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| |
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Parts on Ebay | motorcycleczar | Volusia/C50 Getaway | 3 | 05-10-2006 06:03 PM |
| '04 Vol on ebay for $14,500.00 | Jerryzuki | The Paddock | 5 | 05-04-2006 10:27 PM |
| Stinkin eBay!! | CManT1914 | Off Topic | 13 | 10-28-2005 09:42 PM |
| Ebay Entry | stevie c | Off Topic | 8 | 09-04-2005 09:26 PM |